Blue Devils News · 2021 BHS Spring Sports Tryout/Practice Information


Below is information on the start of spring sports practices and tryout information.  Many sports currently have preseason programs ongoing during the months of January and February; student athletes are encouraged to contact the head coach to get information about pre-season as well as tryout information.

Baseball: Tryouts begin February 22nd (Coach Grant Relic, grelic@bcsoh.org) 

Lacrosse (Boys): Practice begins February 22nd (Coach Jerry Golod, jgolod@bcsoh.org)

Lacrosse (Girls): Tryouts begin February 22nd (Coach Kolbie Spagnolo, kspagnolo@bcsoh.org)

Softball: Tryouts begin February 22nd (Coach Julie Salzman, jsalzman@bcsoh.org)

Tennis (Boys): Tryouts begin March 8th (Coach Mark Merchant, mmerchant@bcsoh.org)

Track & Field (Boys): Practice begins February 22nd (Coach Owen Coughlin, ocoughlin@bcsoh.org)

Track & Field (Girls): Practice begins February 22nd (Coach Matt Sofranko, msofranko@bcsoh.org)

Club Rugby (Boys): Practice begins TBD (please contact BHS Asst. Athletic Director Mr. Brian Braskie for information bbraskie@bcsoh.org)

Club Volleyball (Boys): Tryouts begin March 8th (Coach Sara Schwarzwalder, sschwarzwalder@bcsoh.org)

Final Forms & Physicals: As a reminder, all student athletes are required to have a pre-participation physical completed, turned in, and verified by the BHS athletic training staff, as well as all Final Forms must be completed by both parent and student athlete (Final Forms Instructions).  Student athletes are encouraged to turn in physicals to the athletic office ASAP; a student athlete who shows to the first day of practice/tryouts with their physical is not guaranteed the ability to participate that day (including tryouts).  The athletic office is open Monday-Friday, 7:30am-4:00pm. There is also a blue drop-box outside of the athletic office.  Physicals must be turned in by 4:00pm on the following dates to begin practice/tryouts on their start dates: Feb. 22 (Feb. 19), Mar. 1 (Feb. 26), Mar. 8 (Mar. 5)

Mandatory Spring Sports Parents Meeting: The OHSAA requires that all schools hold a mandatory pre-season meeting for each sports season. The athletic department will be holding the Spring Sports Parents Meeting in a virtual format and will be sending that presentation to parents at the beginning of March.

Participation Fees: Participation fees for spring sports are due by March 15th. Participation fees are currently being accepted in the BHS Athletic Office or can be paid online through MySchoolBucks.

Spring Sports Pictures: Pictures will be the afternoon of March 18th:
2:40 – 3:00 Softball 
3:00 – 3:30 Baseball
3:30 – 4:00 Girls Track & Field
4:00 – 4:30 Boys Track & Field
4:30 – 4:50 Boys Tennis
4:50 – 5:10 Girls Lacrosse
5:10 – 5:30 Boys Lacrosse
5:30 – 5:45 Boys Rugby
5:45 – 6:00 Boys Volleyball

Track & Field (Middle School): Practice begins February 22nd.  Any questions regarding middle school athletics should be directed to Mr. Brian Braskie, Middle School Athletic Director, bbraskie@bcsoh.org.

Go Big Blue!