Blue Devils News · Winter Sports Tryout/Practice Information


Below is information on the start of winter sports practices and tryout information.  Many sports currently have preseason programs ongoing during the month of October; student athletes are encouraged to contact the head coach to get information about pre-season as well as tryout information.

BHS Basketball (Girls): Tryouts begin October 23, BHS East & West Gyms (Coach Anthony Ocacio, aocacio@bcsoh.org)

BHS Basketball (Boys): Tryouts begin October 30, BHS East & West Gyms (Coach Joe Mackey, jmackey@bcsoh.org)

BHS Bowling (Girls): Tryouts October 30th and November 3rd, 3:30pm-5:00pm @ AMF Lanes, Medina (Coach Kirstie Hegedus, khegedus@bcsoh.org)

BHS Bowling (Boys): Tryouts October 30th and November 3rd, 3:30pm-5:00pmAMF Lanes, Medina (Coach Ryan Jakubczak, rjakubczak@bcsoh.org)

BHS Swimming (Boys & Girls): Practice begins October 30, Brunswick Recreation Center (Coach Vince Colwell, vcolwell@bcsoh.org)

BHS Gymnastics (Girls): Practice begins November 6, Five Star Gymnastics, Brunswick (Coach Jackie Krist, jkrist@bcsoh.org)

BHS Wrestling: Practice begins November 13, BHS Wrestling Room (Coach Mike Koshar, mkoshar@bcsoh.org)

BHS Cheerleading: Tryouts complete (Coach Julie Schmieder, jschmieder@bcsoh.org)

Middle School Sports:

  • 7th Basketball (Girls) – Tryouts begin October 23, 5:00pm, BHS West Gym
  • 8th Basketball (Girls) – Tryouts begin October 23, 6:00pm, BHS West Gym
  • 7th Basketball (Boys) – Tryouts begin October 31, BHS West Gym
    • LAST NAME A-K  11:45am-1:30pm
    • LAST NAME L-Z  1:15pm-3:00pm
  • 8th Basketball (Boys) – Tryouts begin October 31, 9:45am, BHS West Gym
  • Wrestling – Practice begins November 16, 5:30pm, BHS Wrestling Room
  • Cheerleading – Tryouts complete

Any questions regarding middle school athletics, please contact Mr. Brian Braskie, Assistant Athletic Director, bbraskie@bcsoh.org

Final Forms & Physicals: As a reminder, all student athletes are required to have a pre-participation physical completed, turned in, and verified by the BHS athletic training staff, as well as all Final Forms must be completed by both parent and student athlete (Final Forms Instructions).  Student athletes are encouraged to turn in physicals to the athletic office ASAP; a student athlete who shows to the first day of practice/tryouts with their physical is not guaranteed the ability to participate that day (including tryouts).  The athletic office is open Monday-Friday, 7:30am-3:30pm. There is also a blue drop-box outside of the athletic office.  Physicals must be turned in by 3:30pm on the following dates to begin practice/tryouts on their start dates: Oct. 23 (Oct. 21), Oct. 30 (Oct. 28), Nov. 6 (Nov. 4), Nov. 13 (Nov. 11)

Winter Sports Picture Day:  Fall Sports pictures will be held on Monday, November 16th in the East Gym.

3:00pm Cheerleaders

3:20pm Girls Basketball

3:40pm Boys Basketball

4:00pm Wrestling

4:20pm Dance Team

4:40pm Girls Bowling

5:00pm Boys Bowling

5:20pm Gymnastics

6:00pm Boys & Girls Swimming @ Brunswick Rec. Center

*Middle School Pictures will be held on November 30th.

Mandatory Winter Sports Parents Meeting: The OHSAA requires that all schools hold a mandatory pre-season meeting for each sports season. The athletic department will be holding the Winter Sports Parents Meeting in a virtual format and will be sending that presentation to parents at the beginning of November.

Pay-To-Participate Fees: Participation fees for winter sports are due by December 1st. Participation fees are currently being accepted in the BHS Athletic Office.

If you have any questions, please contact the athletic office at 330-273-0496.

Go Big Blue!