Blue Devils News · BHS & BMS Fall Sports Tryout/Practice Information


Below is information on the start of fall sports practices and tryout information.  Many high school sports currently have summer programs ongoing during the month of July; student athletes are encouraged to contact the head coach to get information about pre-season as well as tryout information.

BHS Cross Country (Boys & Girls): Practice begins August 1, 8:00am, Brunswick Auto Mart Stadium (Coach Kerry Hunter, khunter@bcsoh.org)

BHS Football (Grades 10-12): Practice begins August 1, 7:30am, Brunswick Auto Mart Stadium (Coach Mark Pinzone, mpinzone@bcsoh.org)

BHS Football (Freshman): Practice begins August 1, 8:00am, BHS Field #1 (north of the stadium) (Coach Grant Relic, grelic@bcsoh.org)

BHS Golf (Boys): Tryouts begin August 2, 11:30am, at Bunker  Golf Course (Coach Chad Thompson, cthompson@bcsoh.org)

BHS Golf (Girls): Tryouts begin August 3, 7:45am, at Bunker Hill Golf Course (Coach Chris Esterak, cesterak@bcsoh.org)

BHS Soccer (Boys): Tryouts begin August 1, 5:00pm, Brunswick Auto Mart Stadium (Coach Ben Dotson, bdotson@bcsoh.org)

BHS Soccer (Girls): Tryouts begin August 3, 3:00pm, Brunswick Auto Mart Stadium (Coach Scott Ward, sward@bcsoh.org)

BHS Tennis (Girls): Tryouts begin August 1, 8:00am, Neura Park (Coach Mark Merchant, mmerchant@bcsoh.org).

Volleyball (Girls): Tryouts begin August 1, 8:00am, BHS East Gym (Coach Mande Luttner, mluttner@bcsoh.org)

BHS Cheerleading: Tryouts complete (Coach Julie Schmieder, jschmieder@bcsoh.org)

Middle School Sports:

  • Cross Country (Boys & Girls) – Practice begins August 3, 6:00pm, BHS Field #1 (north of the stadium)
    • Cross Country Summer Training Workout Plan: CLICK HERE
  • 8th Football – Practice begins August 3, 8:30am, BHS Field #4 (east fields)
  • 7th Football – Practice begins August 3, 9:00am, BHS Field #5 (east fields)
  • 8th Volleyball – Tryouts begin August 3, 9:00am, BHS West Gym
  • 7th Volleyball – Tryouts begin August 3, 11:00am, BHS West Gym

Any questions regarding middle school athletics, please contact Mr. Brian Braskie, Assistant Athletic Director, bbraskie@bcsoh.org.

Middle School Cheerleading: Tryouts will be held virtually the week of August 3rd. Click here for a link to the Cheer Tryout PacketJoin our cheer tryout Google Classroom using the code ztvt3q3. Contact Coach Elizabeth Rinkes, erinkes@bcsoh.org or Coach Sarah Zenczak, szenczak@bcsoh.org for any questions. 

Final Forms & Physicals: As a reminder, all student athletes are required to have a pre-participation physical completed, turned in, and verified by the BHS athletic training staff, as well as all Final Forms must be completed by both parent and student athlete (Final Forms Instructions).  Student athletes are encouraged to turn in physicals to the athletic office ASAP; a student athlete who shows to the first day of practice/tryouts with their physical is not guaranteed the ability to participate that day (including tryouts).  The athletic office is open Monday-Friday, 8:00am-3:00pm. There is a blue drop-box outside of the athletic office.  Physicals must be turned in by 3:00pm on Thursday July 30th to be able to participate on Saturday August 1st (or Sunday August 2nd).

BHS Fall Sports Picture Day:  Fall Sports pictures will be held on Friday, August 7th at Brunswick Auto Mart Stadium (BHS East Gym will be the rain site).
12:15 – 12:45 Volleyball
12:45 – 1:15 Freshman Football
1:15 – 2:00 Football (Varsity/JV)
2:00 – 2:30 Cheerleaders
2:30 – 2:45 Girls Tennis
2:45 – 3:15 Cross Country
3:15 – 3:30 Boys Golf
3:30 – 3:45 Girls Golf
3:45 – 4:15 Girls Soccer
4:15 – 4:45 Boys Soccer
4:45 – 5:00 All Sports Senior Picture

*Middle School Pictures will be held on September 11th, BHS West Gym.

Mandatory Fall Sports Parents Meeting: The OHSAA requires that all schools hold a mandatory pre-season meeting for each sports season. The athletic department will be holding the Fall Sports Parents Meeting on Wednesday, August 12th, beginning at 6:00pm (High School Sports) and 6:45pm (Middle School Sports) at the BHS Performing Arts Center.

Pay-To-Participate Fees: Participation fees for fall sports are due by August 15th. Participation fees are currently being accepted in the BHS Athletic Office for both high school and middle school sports.

Game Schedules: All games schedules can be found on our athletic department website, www.bluedevilathletics.org (please note: schedule changes are still possible throughout the summer)

If you have any questions, please contact the athletic office at 330-273-0496.

Go Big Blue!