Multiple Teams · Middle School Fall Sports Tryout/Practice Information 2019


Fall Sports are right around the corner. Below is information on the start of fall sports practices and tryout information for Brunswick City Schools Middle School Athletics.

For students trying out and participating in fall sports please make sure you have the following completed:

  1. You have a Final Forms account https://brunswick-oh.finalforms.com
  2. Parent Forms are signed
  3. Student Forms are signed
  4. You have selected your fall sport
  5. You have an updated physical on file

Cross Country (Boys; EMS, VMS, & WMS): Practice begins August 1, 6:00pm at Brunswick High School Field 1 (North of Brunswick Auto Mart Stadium) (Coach Wendy Hunter, whunter@bcsoh.org). Cross Country has no tryouts, all interested make the team. LINK TO MORE INFORMATION

Cross Country (Girls; EMS, VMS, & WMS): Practice begins August 1, 6:00pm at Willetts Middle School (Coach Beth Bender, bbender@bcsoh.org). Cross Country has no tryouts, all interested make the team. LINK TO MORE INFORMATION

Football (Grade 8; EMS, VMS, & WMS):
Open Gym/Voluntary Camp @ BHS Field 5 (east of the high school)
Tuesday, July 16th – 9:00am – 10:30am
Wednesday, July 17th – 9:00am – 10:30am
Thursday, July 18th – 9:00am – 10:30am

First Week of Practice @ BHS Field 5 (east of the high school)
Thursday, August 1st – 8:30am – 11:30am
Friday, August 2nd – 8:30am – 11:30am

(Coach Rick Buchner, rbuchner@bcsoh.org, Coach Brian Lemmer, blemmer@bcsoh.org, Coach Steve Yoak, syoak@bcsoh.org, and Coach Adam Albright, aabright@bcsoh.org) *All 8th grade students playing football will begin practicing together.  At a date determined by the coaches, players will be split into Blue & White teams (Blue & White is not an A team, B team structure; teams will be evenly split per OHSAA rule)

Football (Grade 7; EMS, VMS, & WMS):
Open Gym/Voluntary Camp @ Willetts Middle School
Monday, July 29th – 8:30am – 12:00pm
Tuesday, July 30th – 8:30am – 12:00pm
Wednesday, July 31st – 8:30am – 12:00pm

First Week of Practice @ Willetts Middle School
Thursday, August 1st – Practice 8:30am – 12:00pm
Friday, August 2nd – Practice 8:30am – 12:00pm

Coach Jeff Grove, jgrove@bcsoh.org, Coach Sean Athey, sathey@bcsoh.org, Coach Greg Seigler, gseigler@bcsoh.org and Coach Kevin Bambauer, kbambauer@bcsoh.org) *All 7th grade students playing football will begin practicing together.  At a date determined by the coaches, players will be split into Blue & White teams (Blue & White is not an A team, B team structure; teams will be evenly split per OHSAA rule)

Volleyball (South, Grades 7 & 8): Tryouts August 5th and 6th at Visintainer MS Gym, 9:00am – 12:00pm, Practice will start August 7th and go from 9am-12pm.
(Coach Scott Wenmoth, swenmoth@bcsoh.org and Coach Kim Safko, ksafko@bcsoh.org). Students MUST be at both tryouts to be considered.

Volleyball (Willetts, Grades 7 & 8): Tryouts August 7th and 8th, 11:00am – 1:00pm, Willetts MS Gym (Coach Amber Perkey, aperkey@bcsoh.org & Coach Hayli Pineiro, hpineiro@bcsoh.org) (Open gyms are scheduled for August 1st and 5th, 12:00pm -1:30pm at WMS Gym)

Cheerleading: Tryouts complete (Coach Elizabeth Rinkes, erinkes@bcsoh.org and Coach Sarah Sprouse, ssprouse@bcsoh.org) Practice for Fall Cheer starts August 6th, August 9th and August 10th from 9am-12:00pm.

As a reminder, all student athletes are required to have a pre-participation physical completed, turned in, and verified by the BHS athletic training staff, as well as all Final Forms must be completed by both parent and student athlete (Final Forms Instructions). Student athletes are encouraged to turn in physicals to the BHS athletic office ASAP; a student athlete who shows to the first day of practice/tryouts with their physical is not guaranteed the ability to participate that day. The BHS athletic office is open Monday-Friday, 8:00am-4:00pm. There is a blue drop-box outside of the athletic office for after hours.

Mandatory Fall Sports Parents Meeting: The OHSAA requires that all schools hold a mandatory pre-season meeting for each middle school sports season. The athletic department will be holding the Fall Middle School Sports Parents Meeting on Thursday, August 8th, beginning at 6:45pm in the BHS Performing Arts Center.

Pay-To-Participate Fees: Participation fees for fall sports are due by Friday, August 30th. If you have any questions about participation fees, please contact the building secretary at the school your student attends after August 1st.

Cross Country Uniforms:

Please see below for more information on how to order your Middle School Cross Country Uniform. Those who ran cross country last year can use the same uniform. MUST ORDER BY TUESDAY, AUGUST 6th. For sizing please click on the item and then click sizing info.

– Link: https://www.bsnteamsports.com/shop/BWICKMSXC#/

Middle School Fall Sports Picture Days:

Friday, September 6th: All Football Teams, and South Volleyball, and All Cheer teams

Thursday, September 12th: All Cross Country, and Willetts Volleyball

Any questions regarding middle school athletics should be directed to Mr. Brian Braskie, Middle School Athletic Director, bbraskie@bcsoh.org or please contact the Athletic Department at 330-273-0496.

Go Big Blue!