Blue Devils News · BHS Spring Sports Tryout/Practice Information


Spring Sports are right around the corner.  Below is information on the start of spring sports practices and tryout information.  Many sports currently have open gyms/fields/etc. ongoing.  Student athletes are encouraged to contact the head coach to get information about pre-season as well as tryout information.

Baseball: Tryouts begin February 18th (Coach Grant Relic, grelic@bcsoh.org) 

Lacrosse (Boys): Tryouts begin February 18th (Coach John Saris, jsaris@ppg.com)

Lacrosse (Girls): Tryouts begin February 19th (Coach Kolbie Haines, khaines@bcsoh.org)

Softball: Tryouts begin February 18th (Coach Julie Salzman, jsalzman@bcsoh.org)

Tennis (Boys): Tryouts begin March 4th (Coach Michael Canterbury, mrcanterbury@roadrunner.com)

Track & Field (Boys): Practice begins March 4th (Coach Owen Coughlin, omcjr48@gmail.com)

Track & Field (Girls): Practice begins March 4th (Coach Alex McCune, alexwmccune@gmail.com)

Club Rugby (Boys): Practice begins March 4th (Coach Kevin Perciak, kperciak@thomasbrick.com)

Club Volleyball (Boys): Practice begins March 4th (Coach Tristan Coughlin, tristan.coughlin@gmail.com)

As a reminder, all student athletes are required to have a pre-participation physical completed, turned in, and verified by the BHS athletic training staff, as well as all Final Forms must be completed by both parent and student athlete (Final Forms Instructions).  Student athletes are encouraged to turn in physicals to the athletic office ASAP; a student athlete who shows to the first day of practice/tryouts with their physical is not guaranteed the ability to participate that day.  The athletic office is open Monday-Friday, 8:00am-4:00pm.  There is a blue drop-box outside of the athletic office for after hours.

Mandatory Spring Sports Parents Meeting: The OHSAA requires that all schools hold a mandatory pre-season meeting for each high school sports season. The athletic department will be holding the spring sports parents meeting on Monday, March 4th, beginning at 6:00pm in the James. J. Hayas Performing Arts Center (PAC).  At the conclusion of the meeting in the PAC, teams will break out to individual rooms for a brief team meeting. Student-Athletes should attend this with their parents.

Pay-To-Participate Fees: The athletic department is currently accepting participation fees. Participation fees for spring sports are due by March 15th. If you have any questions about participation fees, please contact Athletics Secretary, Michelle Yacko at 330-273-0496.

Spring Sports Pictures: Pictures will be the afternoon of Wednesday, March 13th:
2:40 – 3:00 Softball
3:00 – 3:20 Baseball
3:20 – 3:40 Girls Track & Field
3:40 – 4:00 Boys Track & Field
4:00 – 4:20 Girls Lacrosse
4:20 – 4:40 Boys Lacrosse
4:40 – 4:55 Boys Tennis
4:55 – 5:10 Boys Volleyball
5:10 – 5:25 Boys Rugby
5:25 – 5:30 All Sports Senior Picture

If you have any questions regarding high school sports, please contact the Athletic Department at 330-273-0496.

Any questions regarding middle school athletics should be directed to Mr. Brian Braskie, Middle School Athletic Director, bbraskie@bcsoh.org.  The middle school spring sports parents meeting for middle school parents & athletes participating in track & field will follow the high school spring sports parents meeting at 6:45pm in the PAC.

Go Big Blue!