Blue Devils News · Middle School Fall Sports Tryout/Practice Information


Fall Sports are right around the corner.  Below is information on the start of fall sports practices and tryout information for Brunswick City Schools Middle School athletics.

Cross Country (Boys; EMS, VMS, & WMS): Practice begins August 1, 6:00pm, Brunswick Automart Stadium (Coach Wendy Hunter, whunter@bcsoh.org)

Cross Country (Girls; EMS, VMS, & WMS): Practice begins August 1, 6:00pm, Willetts Middle School (Coach Beth Bender, bbender@bcsoh.org)

Football (Grade 8; EMS, VMS, & WMS): Practice begins July 30, 8:30am, BHS Fields 4 & 5 (east of the high school) (Coach Rick Buchner, rbuchner@bcsoh.org)
*All 8th grade students playing football will begin practicing together.  At a date determined by the coaches, players will be split into Blue & White teams (Blue & White is not an A team, B team structure; teams will be evenly split per OHSAA rule)

Football (Grade 7; EMS, VMS, & WMS): Practice begins July 30, 8:30am, Willetts Middle School (Coach Jeff Grove, jgrove@bcsoh.org)
*All 7th grade students playing football will begin practicing together.  At a date determined by the coaches, players will be split into Blue & White teams (Blue & White is not an A team, B team structure; teams will be evenly split per OHSAA rule)

Volleyball (South, Grades 7 & 8): Tryouts begin August 2, 8:30am, Visintainer MS Gym (Coach Scott Wenmoth, swenmoth@bcsoh.org)

Volleyball (Willetts, Grades 7 & 8): Tryouts begin August 6, 12:00pm, Willetts MS Gym (Coach Amber Perkey, aperkey@bcsoh.org) (open gyms are scheduled for Aug 1-3, 9:00am at WMS Gym) *Updated 7/9/18

Cheerleading: Tryouts complete (Coach Elizabeth Rinkes, erinkes@bcsoh.org)

As a reminder, all student athletes are required to have a pre-participation physical completed, turned in, and verified by the BHS athletic training staff, as well as all Final Forms must be completed by both parent and student athlete (Final Forms Instructions).  Student athletes are encouraged to turn in physicals to the BHS athletic office ASAP; a student athlete who shows to the first day of practice/tryouts with their physical is not guaranteed the ability to participate that day.  The BHS athletic office is open Monday-Friday, 8:00am-4:00pm.  There is a blue drop-box outside of the athletic office for after hours.

If you have any questions, please contact the athletic office at 330-273-0496.

Go Big Blue!