Blue Devils Official Sponsor

Blue Devils News · Winter Sports Pre-Season Information


Winter sports is right around the corner. Girls Basketball begins October 27th, Boys Basketball, Boys & Girls Bowling, Boys & Girls Swimming, Gymnastics begins November 3rd, and Wrestling begins November 10th.  Please review this important information to ensure your student athlete is able to participate on the first day of tryouts/practice.

Physicals: All Brunswick High School students who plan to participate on a sports team this winter must have a valid and current physical on file in the athletic office. Physical forms can be found on Final Forms. Physicals are valid for 1 year from the date of the exam.  If a student does not have a physical on file, they cannot participate, practice, tryout, etc.

Final Forms: All students must have a Final Forms account. The Brunswick High School Athletic Department uses Final Forms for all athletic forms.

If you have not registered your student in Final Forms, please follow this link for directions http://s3.amazonaws.com/vnn-aws-sites/3841/files/2016/07/9151b1e179783069-FF_ParentPlaybook_Brunswick-2.pdf. Once created, Please check off all sports your student plans to play/tryout for this year. Once you have selected your sports, please complete all forms and parent AND student e-signatures.

If your student has a previous Final Forms account, you must go in, select your sports for the year, update/verify information and complete all parent AND student e-signatures for this year.

All verifications must be complete in Final Forms before the first day of practice.

Transfer Students: Any student who has transferred to Brunswick from another high school must contact the Athletic Director to set up an appointment to complete all necessary paperwork before the student may participate in athletics.

Pay-To-Participate Fees: The athletic department is currently accepting participation fees. Participation fees for fall sports are due by November 15th. If you have any questions about participation fees, please contact Athletics Secretary, Michelle Yacko at 330-273-0496.

Winter Sports Pictures: Winter sports pictures will be the afternoon of Thursday, November 9th. A team schedule will be posted in the near future for picture day.

2:30 – 2:40 Boys Bowling
2:40 – 2:50 Girls Bowling
2:50 – 3:10 Boys Basketball
3:10 – 3:30 Girls Basketball
3:30 – 3:45 Dance Team
3:45 – 4:15 Wrestling
4:15 – 4:45 Boys & Girls Swimming & Diving
4:45 – 5:00 Cheerleaders
5:00 – 5:15 Gymnastics
5:15 – 5:30 All Sports Senior Picture

Mandatory Winter Sports Parents Meeting: OHSAA requires that all schools hold a mandatory pre-season meeting for each high school sports season. The athletic department will be holding the fall sports parents meeting on Thursday, November 9th, beginning at 6:00pm in the James J. Hayas Performing Arts Center. At the conclusion of the meeting in the PAC, teams will break out individual rooms for a brief team meeting. Student-Athletes should attend this with their parents.

Winter Sports Contacts: If you have any questions regarding a specific sport (tryouts, practice schedules, etc.), please contact the head coach.

Cheerleading: Coach Julie Schmieder, jschmieder@bcsoh.org
Boys Basketball: Coach Joe Mackey, jmackey@bcsoh.org
Girls Basketball: Coach Halle Schmidt, hschmidt@@bcsoh.org
Boys Bowling: Coach Jon Laube, riverguy23@yahoo.com
Girls Bowling: Coach Rob Campbell, rcampbell@bcsoh.org
Dance Team: Coach Dawn Thompson, dthompson@bcsoh.org
Gymnastics: Coach Jackie Krist, coachjackie0711@gmail.com
Boys & Girls Swimming: Coach Vince Colwell, vcolwell@swimstrongsville.net
Wrestling: Coach Mike Koshar, mkoshar@bcsoh.org

If you have any questions regarding high school sports, please contact the Athletic Department at 330-273-0496.

John Justice (jjustice@bcsoh.org), Athletic Director

Michelle Yacko (myacko@bcsoh.org), Athletics Secretary

Any questions regarding middle school athletics should be directed to Mr. Bryan Biedron, Middle School Athletic Director, bbiedron@bcsoh.org.

Go Big Blue!